Profoto B2 AirTTL Off-Camera Flash Review

Posted June 17th, 2015 by   |  Flash Photography, Photography, Uncategorized  |  Permalink
Profoto B2 Air TTL

The Profoto B2 250 AirTTL Location Kit

Profoto asked me to review the new Profoto B2 off-camera flash system so I put the B2 AirTTL system through its paces shooting some outdoor portraits and photographing kids playing on a trampoline. For this test, I used the Profoto B2 250 AirTTL Location kit, Profoto OCF light shapers, a Nikon D750, the Nikon AF-S 14-24mm f/2.8, the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8, and the Nikon AF-S 85mm f/1.8.

Here’s a video I put together for the Profoto B2 AirTTL OCF system.

I currently own a set of Profoto D1 Air studio strobes and think that Profoto makes some of the best studio lights on the market today. The B2 flashes take the Profoto technology and shrink it down into a small, battery-powered location kit that you can take just about anywhere. Like everything else in the Profoto lineup, the build quality of the B2 system is top-notch. Also, the quality of light is excellent when used with the OCF (off camera flash) light shapers.

Profoto trampoline

I used the Profoto B2 250 AirTTL heads to photograph these kids jumping on the trampoline. The flashes worked great with the outdoor location and packed enough punch to work with the bright sun.

The OCF system uses a battery pack to power the heads. This battery is small in comparison to other location power-pack systems and weighs just a few pounds. It is small enough that you can easily wear the pack with a shoulder strap while shooting events and outdoor action sports.

The heads are 250 watt-seconds each, so they pack about four times more power than a Nikon or Canon speedlight. They also recycle much faster than dedicated flashes, making it easier to photograph action with the B2 system.

Profoto trampoline BTS

Here you can see the two B2 heads in the lower right and upper left. I used the extension cable to move the background hair light about 15 feet away from the battery pack.

The B2 battery pack is designed to hang from a light stand or over your shoulder with a longer strap. Power runs from the battery pack through cables to the B2 heads. These heads are small, lightweight and compact and mount to just about any light stand. The heads work with any of the Profoto OCF light shapers. They also work with the traditional speedrings from other Profoto systems like the D1, D2, etc.

Profoto sells a wide variety of OCF accessories including softboxes, octas, umbrellas, snoots, grids and extension cables so you can move the heads farther distances away from the battery pack. The OCF light shapers are lighter weight than Profoto’s studio light shapers. The OCF material is made out of a reflective silver-coated rip-stop nylon and is constructed very well. It is all designed to go out on the road and perform in any environment.

The AirTTL system allows full remote control of two B2 heads. It mounts on the camera’s hot shoe just like a dedicated flash. The difference is that it communicates with the B2 battery pack while allowing for full TTL control or full manual control of the flash heads. You can control the flash power from the battery pack itself or from the remote control.

B2 on flash bracket

The B2 OCF heads are small enough and light enough to place on a flash bracket.

The B2 system has built-in modeling lights. These are useful for studio work indoors, but the modeling lights aren’t quite bright enough to use outdoors. The modeling lights could also be used for video lighting in a pinch.

The B2 flashes are powerful enough to use outside on a sunny day. I used them with bright sun in the background and was able to shoot at f/8 and ISO 400 with a rapid recycle rate. Not bad for a small flash system.

Jumping on trampoline

For this photo I used two B2 heads; one with a softbox and the other as a direct flash.

Since the B2s are really lightweight, they can be mounted on a flash bracket attached to your camera. You’ll still use the supplied B2 battery with cable, but instead of mounting a typical Nikon dedicated flash like a SB-910, you’ll mount the B2 head to the bracket. Additionally, you can use any of the OCF light shapers while the B2 head is mounted on the flash bracket. The advantage of using the B2 this way is that you can shoot events while getting lots of power, fast recycle rates and lots of shots before the batteries run out.

The entire B2 location kit fits in a small bag about the size of a classic Domke F-2 shoulder camera bag. This means that you can take the B2 OCF system on location just about anywhere in the world and produce high-end results.

B2 carry bag

The location kit fits in a small shoulder bag making it easy to carry around the world.

My hat is off to Profoto for innovating yet another killer product. The B2 AirTTL Off-camera Flash system definitely gets two thumbs up from me.

Buy your own B2 AirTTL OCF system here:

B&H Photo Video: Profoto B2 AirTTL Location Kit

Adorama: Profoto B2 AirTTL Location Kit

Ice-cream portrait

Fun summertime ice-cream portraits with the Profoto B2 Location Kit.

Ladder portrait

For this portrait, I shot in TTL mode. The Nikon D750 camera and AirTTL controller nailed the exposure!

 



55 Comments on “Profoto B2 AirTTL Off-Camera Flash Review”

  • www.xmc.pl December 20th, 2020 3:39 pm

    I totally agree. What are your criteria? Lately Ive been following Damon Vickers, a finacial luminary from Seattle. If you havnt read his book about one global currency, you should get your hands on a copy. I believe that people dont really know the magnitude of the situation we face today. To have a top strategist like Damon Vickers, who called the market plummet in both 2000 and 2008, publicly express the fears of many of the approach of a one world government is fantastic. At any rate, cool list and can’t wait ‘til the next article

  • Google Guide January 4th, 2021 6:54 am

    kinda appreciated the article that you published . it really isnt that simple to discover even remotely good stuff toactually read (you know READ and not just browsing through it like some uniterested and flesh eating zombie before moving on), so cheers mate for really not wasting my time on the god forsaken internet.

  • cialis prescription online January 4th, 2021 11:40 am

    hello guos 9128738515

  • JamesPiork January 13th, 2021 8:33 pm

    best medication for ed http://canadaedwp.com top ed pills

  • JamesPiork January 13th, 2021 11:28 pm

    new ed treatments http://canadaedwp.com website

  • JamesBoamn January 14th, 2021 10:30 pm

    fda warning list cialis cheap cialis ekisbvdx take cialis with or without food

  • JamesBoamn January 15th, 2021 9:02 am

    pills for ed rluzwiks levitra online online drug store

  • JamesBoamn January 15th, 2021 2:28 pm

    cialis erection penis cialis online xjvyzrde coupons for cialis

  • JamesBoamn January 16th, 2021 12:25 am

    viagra or cialis cialis online qhmdgvjy cialis samples request

  • Lesteranymn January 19th, 2021 1:22 am

    generic cialis tadalafil ikwmcqzo http://tadedmedz.online/ cialis price

  • Lesteranymn January 19th, 2021 6:35 am

    does viagra or cialis help with pe gfnszmpr http://tadedmedz.online/ cialis daily

  • DavidhulgE January 22nd, 2021 5:30 am

    buy medication without an rx buy prescription viagra online without

  • Geraldjam January 26th, 2021 9:49 am

    http://kamagrafast100.com kamagra 100mg

  • Geraldjam January 26th, 2021 2:58 pm

    http://levitrafast20.com buy levitra online

  • Geraldjam January 26th, 2021 8:29 pm

    http://zithromaxfast500.com zithromax for sale cheap

  • Geraldjam January 27th, 2021 12:39 am

    http://zithromaxfast500.com zithromax price canada

  • Geraldjam January 27th, 2021 4:26 am

    http://tadalafilfast20.com generic sildenafil 20mg cost

  • Geraldjam January 27th, 2021 8:12 am

    http://sildenafilfast100.com purchase sildenafil pills

  • Geraldjam January 27th, 2021 3:17 pm

    http://tadalafilfast20.com tadalafil online india

  • Joshuavix January 30th, 2021 1:00 am

    buy cheap viagra generic sildenafil

  • Joshuavix January 30th, 2021 6:14 am

    genericVGR cheap viagra

  • Robertwem February 1st, 2021 9:57 pm

    cialis vidalista http://generictadalafil20.com buy cialis online

  • Robertwem February 2nd, 2021 3:19 am

    what is cialis http://generictadalafil20.com generic tadalafil 20mg

  • LouisCiz February 4th, 2021 4:53 am

    new ed drugs new treatments for ed
    treatments for ed

  • LouisCiz February 4th, 2021 10:15 am

    best ed drug buy ed pills online
    pills for ed

  • LouisCiz February 4th, 2021 9:23 pm

    ed pills for sale herbal ed treatment
    best ed pills online

  • LouisCiz February 5th, 2021 8:27 am

    best ed pills online new ed treatments
    online ed medications

  • Strojenie Pianin February 7th, 2021 7:03 am

    I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a great blogger, one of the greatest that Ive seen. This weblog unquestionably has some info on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this things to light.

  • RolandTed February 7th, 2021 5:01 pm

    online pharmacy viagra canadian online pharmacy viagra
    cheap viagra online canadian pharmacy

  • RolandTed February 7th, 2021 10:21 pm

    viagra from india viagra from india
    buying viagra online

  • Socjologia Spoleczenstwa February 11th, 2021 1:58 am

    However, being a US production, modern puritanical attitudes prevail, meaning the violence is dialed way up, and the cleavage is dialed way down.

    http://www.socjologia.xmc.pl

  • GlennJeorn February 11th, 2021 1:58 am

    terramycin for sale augmentin for sale
    order erythromycin

  • GlennJeorn February 11th, 2021 6:14 am

    order cephalexin online cipro generic
    stromectol price

  • GlennJeorn February 11th, 2021 1:38 pm

    generic biaxin buy keftab
    order tetracycline

  • GlennJeorn February 11th, 2021 5:19 pm

    myambutol for sale nitrofurantoin capsules
    trimox tablets

  • GlennJeorn February 11th, 2021 9:23 pm

    buy sumycin generic biaxin capsules
    order noroxin online

  • chronic pain February 11th, 2021 11:09 pm

    Were it not for hope the heart would break.

  • Japan.M106.COM February 13th, 2021 1:34 am

    Just a fast hello and also to thank you for discussing your ideas on this page. I wound up in your blog right after researching physical fitness connected issues on Yahoo guess I lost track of what I had been performing! Anyway I’ll be back once once more inside the potential to test out your blogposts down the road. Thanks!

  • hydroksychlorochina February 15th, 2021 11:44 pm

    hydrochoriquine plaquenil sulfate hydroxychloroquine 200mg tablets

  • Norway February 16th, 2021 6:04 am

    Dano ci zycie, ktore jest tylko opowiescia. Ale to juz twoja sprawa, jak ty ja opowiesz i czy umrzesz pelen dni. – Marek Hlasko

  • Richardtemig February 17th, 2021 12:26 am

    cialis in canada viagra vs cialis vs levitra
    cialis 30 day trial voucher

  • Richardtemig February 17th, 2021 5:31 am

    buy viagra cialis cialis for peyronie
    real cialis without a doctor prescription

  • Richardtemig February 17th, 2021 9:28 am

    cialis money order is generic cialis safe
    cialis canada

  • Richardtemig February 17th, 2021 4:56 pm

    cialis headaches afterwards cialis reps
    buy cialis

  • Richardtemig February 17th, 2021 8:36 pm

    cialis for peyronie cialis samples request
    tadalafil vs cialis

  • Richardtemig February 18th, 2021 12:16 am

    cialis prices 30 day cialis trial offer
    cialis generic

  • Richardtemig February 19th, 2021 3:12 pm

    liquid cialis source reviews cost of cialis 20mg tablets
    generic for cialis

  • Filozofia w Praktyce February 19th, 2021 8:47 pm

    It is incredibly, very user-friendly and user friendly. Great job for the fabulous site. http://www.piano.m106.com

  • Richardtemig February 19th, 2021 9:15 pm

    30ml liquid cialis switching from tamsulosin to cialis
    cialis coupon

  • Richardtemig February 20th, 2021 3:39 am

    5 mg cialis coupon printable how long does 20mg cialis keep in system
    generic cialis at walgreens pharmacy

  • Richardtemig February 20th, 2021 9:44 am

    generic cialis without prescription coupon for cialis by manufacturer
    prices of cialis

  • zithromax z pak February 20th, 2021 1:17 pm

    zithromax cures cheap zithromax online generic zithromax 500mg

  • Richardtemig February 20th, 2021 8:18 pm

    liquid cialis source reviews cialis prices
    cialis headaches afterwards

  • www.USA.XMC.pl February 23rd, 2021 2:09 am

    I simply want to mention I am very new to blogging and site-building and really liked this web blog. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You actually come with good writings. Appreciate it for sharing with us your blog site.

  • JAPAN.XMC.PL February 27th, 2021 2:18 am

    I have to say I frequently wondered on this subject , never actually took the time to research it, thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

© 2021 Visual Adventures | Site Policies | Web by Works Development